來自的消息

第四走廊代表

Leon Smith Main Photo.tif

只要有高尚的理想和良好的意願,就永遠做不到,只要人性不變,就永遠不會帶來偉大的改革,贏得一場戰鬥或戰勝一種可怕的疾病。他接著寫道:“無論意圖多麼美好,行動都是行動存在的唯一證據”

〜創始人教授弗蘭克·科爾曼(Frank Coleman)

(Oracle,1921年8月)

首先,我要感謝我們的第37區代表Kelvin K. Ampofo兄弟對我的信任,因為我被任命為您的IV號走廊新代表。遵循我們的第四屆直屬前走廊代表和現任第一副第二區代表德爾雷科勒·蓋爾斯兄弟的足跡,這是一個異常艱鉅的任務。話雖如此,我非常謙虛和感激地接受這一挑戰,並希望為您服務。

最初,這是由我們的創始人弗蘭克·科爾曼(Frank Coleman)曾提出的深刻話語開始的,這些話語表示,如果不採取行動,意圖的價值將微乎其微。為此,我很自豪地說第四走廊的兄弟和章節“致力於行動”。我今天以崇高的敬意和崇高的敬意站在你面前,即使在全球大流行,社會動盪和經濟不穩定的情況下,我們偉大國家的所有各章也繼續每天做著偉大的工作。然而,歐米茄仍然在黑暗的世界中閃耀著光芒,在許多方面,我們的光芒比以往任何時候都更加明亮!我們正在為飢餓的人們提供食物,並將其分發給需要它的人。我們站在反對社會不公正的和平抗議的最前沿,但我們也在指導我們的青年,為公民登記以創紀錄的數目進行投票,還有更多!您是本年度成就週主題“迎接社會變革的歐米茄男人”的縮影。對於我們已經完成和正在做的許多工作,……我們實際上仍然處於這種虛擬環境的潛伏期。以上帝為我們的指南針,我們將走出大流行……更強大,更明智,更偉大!

在過去的一年中,Covid-19從我們身邊奪走了許多堅定的兄弟。有人失去了丈夫,父親,兒子,導師和朋友。兄弟失去了LB,章節也失去了不可替代的兄弟。讓我們不斷為我們的集體歐米茄家庭祈禱。

作為第四走廊的代表,我的祈禱很簡單……我們每個兄弟都按照上帝的旨意盡其所能利用自己的才能和才華,並在此過程中結交了“朋友”。讓我們永遠記住創始人Bishop Edgar Amos Love給我們的指控,他總是接受“艱難的挑戰!”。無論是抗擊流行病,社會不公,貧困還是任何可能發生的事情,歐米茄都將繼續在黑暗的世界中成為光明。

保持安全,願上帝繼續祝福您和您的家人!

您在歐米茄,

萊昂·史密斯二世兄弟

第四走廊代表

歐米茄Phi Phi Fraternity,Inc.

“別害怕在最偉大的人中成為偉大的人!”

-摩西·諾曼(Brother Moses C.

Message From the

Corridor IV Representative

Leon Smith Main Photo.tif

“High ideals and good intentions alone, never did, and as long as human nature remains as it is, never will bring about one great reform, win a single battle, or conquer a single dreaded disease.  He went on to write: “However good the intentions may be, actions are the only evidence of their existence”

~Founder Professor Frank Coleman

(The Oracle, August 1921)

I would like to first thank our 37th District Representative, Brother Kelvin K. Ampofo, for having the confidence in me by my appointment as your new Corridor IV Representative. Following the footsteps of our Immediate Past Corridor IV Representative and current First Vice Second District Representative, Brother Delrecole Gales, is an exceptionally tall order.  With that said, I accept this challenge with great humility and gratitude and am looking foward to serving. 

 

I began this message with profound words once coined by our Founder Frank Coleman that stated intentions are worth very little without action.  To that end, I'm proud to say that the brothers and chapters of Corridor IV are "committed to action." I stand before you today with absolute admiration and respect for the great work that all the chapters across our great state continue to do daily, even amid a global pandemic, social unrest, and economic instability.  And yet Omega remains a shining light in a dark world, and in many ways, our light is shining brighter than ever!  We are feeding the hungry and distributing PPE to those that need it. We are on the frontlines of peaceful protests against social injustice, but we are also mentoring our youth, registering citizens to vote in record numbers, and much, much more!   You are the epitome of this year's achievement week theme, "Omega Men Ushering in Social Change." And for as much work we have done and are doing…we are actually still in a sort of incubation period in this virtual environment.  With God as our compass,  we will come out of the pandemic…stronger, wiser, greater!

 

Over the past year, Covid-19 has taken many of our stalwart brothers from us. Someone has lost a husband, a father, a son, a mentor, and a friend.  Brothers have lost LBs, and chapters have lost brothers that are irreplaceable.  Let us continually pray for our collective Omega Family.

 

As Corridor IV Representative, my prayer is simple…for each of our brothers to utilize their gifts and talents to the best of their ability according to God's will and that we make "Friends" while doing so.  Let us always remember the charge given to us by Founder Bishop Edgar Amos Love always to accept "The Challenge of the Difficult!" Whether fighting against the pandemic, social injustice, poverty, or whatever may come, let Omega continue to be that light in a dark world.

Stay safe and may God continue to bless you and your families!

Yours in Omega,

 

 

Brother Leon M. Smith II

Corridor IV Representative

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

 

“Do not be afraid to be great amongst the greatest of men!”

-Brother Moses C. Norman, Sr. (Omega Chapter), 33rd Grand Basileus